Tamara Dean announced as winner of 2018 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

19 Oct 2018
Image credit: Tamara Dean Sacred Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera) in Autumn from the series In our Nature 2017. Inkjet print. Courtesy the artist and Martin Browne Contemporary

Tamara Dean announced as winner of 2018 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

On Fri 19 Oct, judge Cherie McNair, Director & CEO, Australian Centre for Photography announced Tamara Dean as the recipient of this year’s Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award.

The coveted contemporary photography award offers a cash prize of $25,000 with the winner’s work has been acquired by HOTA to join our collection of contemporary Australian photography.

With over 200 outstanding entries and 45 finalists from a diverse range of photographers this year, Tamara Dean captured the win for her work titled, Sacred Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera) in Autumn from the series In our Nature 2017 – an inkjet print, courtesy of the artist and Martin Browne Contemporary.

Cherie McNair, who judged the 2018 Award, expressed that Tamara’s work accurately depicted modern day photography.

‘Tamara Dean creates work that confirms photography’s veracity in the twenty-first century. Collaboration, connection with contemporary issues are coupled with a quiet introspection and exploration of ritual,’ she said.

‘The ambiguous and fluid nature of the medium is used to explore the relationship between humans and the natural world. The work confirms Dean’s mastery of the medium, ability to connect with her subject and presents us with a contemplative moment that captures both the dynamism of human movement and the stillness of the landscape.

‘Dean has a distinctive ability to capture important moments, very much reflective of her career as a photojournalist. This attribute extends into her art practice, imbuing important moments with a Pre-Raphaelite, otherworldly quality,’ added Cherie.

This year, an additional $25,000 for acquisitions was also awarded to the following finalists, Abdul Abdullah – Delegated risk management from the Weddings series 2017, Tony Albert, David C Collins and Kieran Smythe-Jackson – Warakurna Superheroes #5  2017, Kai Wasikowski – Realtree #4 2018, and Honey Long and Prue Stent – Salt Pool 2018, with their works to be displayed as part of the exhibition.

From performative, playful acts to scenes of social realism, and to the epic scale of the natural world in contrast with urban structures, the 2018 Award was potent with diverse subject matter and photographic techniques.

Diana Warnes, Head of Curatorial Projects commented, ‘The selected entrants for 2018 showcase the breadth of photographic practice in Australia. The Award is a fulsome experience about the possibilities of contemporary photography and a vital platform for photographers of all levels of experience to showcase their work’.

All works selected as finalists will be exhibited at Gallery at HOTA until 25 November.

Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

An initiative of the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Foundation, the award honours the philanthropy of Win Schubert AO (1937-2017) and her extraordinary generosity as a lifelong custodian of Australian photography, art and creativity. It is now also the biggest award in photography for Queensland and second in Australia, acting as a touchstone for contemporary photographic practice nationwide.

The award is intentionally left open. It is not narrowed by theme and encourages entries from emerging as well as established photographers and artists. It’s an exciting platform for established and emerging Australian photographers to showcase their work.

‘JUWSPA is a great opportunity. It brings the best in contemporary photography to the Gold Coast, but more broadly to Queensland, where there are limited opportunities to see and exhibit photography.’ said Diana Warnes, Head of Curatorial Projects, Gallery at HOTA.

The award was first introduced in 2002. Over the years, the photographic works in the collection have grown and now align with an exciting time in HOTA’s redevelopment.

‘Throughout the Award’s history, it has created a core collection of photography that we’ve had the ability to build and grow through other acquisitions and donations. With development well under way for our new gallery in 2021, our rich photography collection will feature prominently in the inaugural hang. Equally exciting is supporting an artist’s career, which is such a wonderful legacy for Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert,’ said Diana.

In 2015, the Arts Centre Gold Coast (now HOTA) gained administration of a one million dollar trust fund bestowed by Mrs Win Schubert AO (1937-2017). This generous benefactor support allows the Gallery at HOTA to continue to host the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award for generations to come.

Gallery at HOTA has been able to support artists and has acquired more than 150 works for the city collection thanks to the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Foundation for the Arts.

Diana Warnes, Head of Curatorial Projects said the Award gives the winner and finalists an unparalleled opportunity for gallery and industry exposure.

‘Awards like the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award provide photographers of all levels the opportunity to experience the possibilities of contemporary photography and showcase their work to the masses,’ she said.

‘It plays a significant role in enhancing the profile of emerging and established artists on a national level, and we’re so fortunate to be able to promote this within our community as the Gold Coast’s budding arts and culture scene blooms.’

All works by finalists will be displayed in the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2018 exhibition at Gallery at HOTA from 20 Oct to 25 Nov.


Competition details:


Opened Monday 2 July and closed Friday 24 August.

Prize details

First Prize: $25,000 (Acquisitive)

Gallery Collection Acquisitions: up to $25,000

2018 Finalists:

The 2018 Finalists were:

  1. Abdul Abdullah
  2. Hoda Afshar
  3. Tony Albert, David C Collins & Kieran Smythe-Jackson
  4. Ben Ali Ong
  5. Jessie Boylan
  6. Aletheia Casey
  7. Celeste Cebra
  8. Grayson Cooke
  9. Dean Cross
  10. Amala Groom & Dale Collier
  11. Lucas Davidson
  12. Gerwyn Davies
  13. Tamara Dean
  14. Shoufay Derz
  15. Merilyn Fairskye
  16. John Feely
  17. Jacqueline Felstead
  18. Philip George
  19. Richard Glover
  20. Mike Gray
  21. Alannah Gunter
  22. Paul Handley
  23. Lee Harrop
  24. Sophia Hewson
  25. Ingvar Kenne
  26. Honey Long & Prue Stent
  27. Anne MacDonald
  28. Morganna Magee
  29. Koji Makino
  30. Hayley Millar Baker
  31. Michael Miller
  32. Harry Nankin
  33. Will Nolan
  34. Emma Phillips
  35. Izabela Pluta
  36. Chris Round
  37. Julie Shiels
  38. Jacqui Stockdale
  39. Nathan Stolz
  40. Cyrus Tang
  41. Janet Tavener
  42. Ioulia Terezis
  43. David Wadelton
  44. Kai Wasikowski
  45. Christopher Young