Supporting artists to make great art

26 Sep 2019

Supporting artists to make great art

We’re delighted to be partnering with the Melbourne Art Foundation to support their 2020 Commission.

The $70k commission, which provides an artist with a rare opportunity to realise a large-scale work, will be a major drawcard of the Melbourne Art Fair before it joins our permanent collection.

Established in 2003, Melbourne Art Foundation is a not for profit organisation established to promote and support contemporary art and living Australian artists.  Committed to servicing the needs of artists, galleries, collectors and visitors, the Foundation leads the way in building national and international audiences and markets for the work of Australia’s living contemporary artists, bringing together the commercial, social, cultural and environmental threads that underpin and sustain the vibrant Australian visual arts ecology.

Melbourne Art Foundation produces the biennial Melbourne Art Week and flagship event Melbourne Art Fair.

Melbourne Art Fair is a seminal fixture on the Australasian cultural calendar, stimulating critical and commercial attention for galleries and their artists for over 30 years. The biennial fair supports and promotes Australasian living artists through the staging of a world-class platform for contemporary art, showcasing iconic and new works by artists from the region’s most respected galleries.

The Foundation sponsors a range of programs during Melbourne Art Week for the benefit of living artists, to facilitate public discussion and develop new audiences for contemporary art. These programs include major commissions, project rooms featuring emerging and independent artists, and art spaces, public talks, collector programs, guided tours and the celebrated Art Fair opening night; Vernissage.

Previous partners in the Melbourne Art Foundation Commission Program include the Bendigo Art Gallery, NGV, QAGOMA, the University of Queensland Art Museum, MCA, Art Gallery of South Australia, National Gallery of Australia; and artists Ronnie van Hout, Michael Parekowhai, David Griggs, Peter Hennessey, Jon Campbell, Ian Burns, and Mikala Dwyer.

The recipient of the commission will be announced in Nov.