Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2018

The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award exhibition honours the philanthropy of Mrs Win Schubert AO (1937-2017). The Award is a touchstone of contemporary photographic practice in Australia, and an exciting platform for established and emerging photographers to showcase their work.

The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award (JUWSPA), introduced in 2002, is considered one of the most important awards for contemporary Australian photographic practice. The exhibition showcases a selection of finalists, in a stunning display where established photographers are presented alongside emerging talent. The resulting exhibition is a reflection of contemporary practice that examines diverse themes and approaches. JUWSPA captures the energetic evolution of the photographic medium as a means of creative expression with photography arguably being one of the most dynamic and embracing mediums in contemporary visual art.

The Award will be judged by Cherie McNair, Director & CEO, Australian Centre for Photography.

2018 Winner

On Fri 19 Oct, judge Cherie McNair, Director & CEO, Australian Centre for Photography announced Tamara Dean as the recipient of this year’s Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award.

The coveted contemporary photography award offers a cash prize of $25,000 with the winner’s work has been acquired by HOTA to join our collection of contemporary Australian photography.

With over 200 outstanding entries and 45 finalists from a diverse range of photographers this year, Tamara Dean captured the win for her work titled, Sacred Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera) in Autumn from the series In our Nature 2017 – an inkjet print, courtesy of the artist and Martin Browne Contemporary.

Read more about Tamara’s win with comments from JUWSPA 2018 judge Cherie McNair, Director & CEO, Australian Centre for Photography over in HOTA Stories.

The 2018 Finalists

The 2018 Finalists are Abdul Abdullah, Hoda Afshar, Tony Albert, David C Collins & Kieran Smythe-Jackson, Ben Ali Ong, Jessie Boylan, Aletheia Casey, Celeste Cebra, Grayson Cooke, Dean Cross, Amala Groom & Dale Collier, Lucas Davidson, Gerwyn Davies, Tamara Dean, Shoufay Derz, Merilyn Fairskye, John Feely, Jacqueline Felstead, Philip George, Richard Glover, Mike Gray, Alannah Gunter, Paul Handley, Lee Harrop, Sophia Hewson, Ingvar Kenne, Honey Long & Prue Stent, Anne MacDonald, Morganna Magee, Koji Makino, Hayley Millar Baker, Michael Miller, Harry Nankin, Will Nolan, Emma Phillips, Izabela Pluta, Chris Round, Julie Shiels, Jacqui Stockdale, Nathan Stolz, Cyrus Tang, Janet Tavener, Ioulia Terezis, David Wadelton, Kai Wasikowski and Christopher Young.

Image: Janet Tavener, Violette 2018 (detail), ChromaLuxe on aluminium, courtesy of the artist and May Space

Eats & Drinks before, during or after checking out the exhibition?

We highly recommend booking at our Café.

You may also like...
  • Breathing_in_trees_Nicola_Moss_1600x840px

    Breathing in trees: Nicola Moss

    20 Oct - 25 Nov

    Let there be rock!

    8 Dec - 17 Feb
  • Up_Late_Talking_Rock_1600x840px

    Gallery Up Late -Talking Rock

    14 Dec - 15 Feb