(07) 5588 4000


Message Us

Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2017

Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2017

Since 2002 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award (JUWSPA) has been one of the most important surveys of contemporary Australian photographic practice.

The exhibition showcases a variety of established artists alongside emerging talent. The result is a strong diversity of contemporary photographic practice, themes, and approaches.

In 2015 the Arts Centre was bestowed with a trust of one million dollars by Mrs Win Schubert AO (1937-2017), a gesture that will ensure the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award will continue for generations to come.

In 2017 the award holds special significance as the Gold Coast honours the memory of Win Schubert and her extraordinary generosity, a lifelong custodian of Australian photography, art and creativity.

In this year’s exhibition, audiences can expect a diverse range of themes including portraiture, landscape, abstract and fashion, along with a strong representation of contemporary topics affecting twenty-first century Australians such as climate change, gender representation and shifting economic and technological landscapes.

2017 Winner
Congratulations to Polly Borland who has been awarded the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award 2017 for her photograph Two Heads A.

Of her work Borland says she ‘wants things to be difficult to look at’. Her photographs are contradictorily beautiful and disturbing – reminiscent of traditional portraiture with a nod to the surreal.

2017 Acquisitions
Works by Darren Sylvester, Broken Model and Danie Mellor, The distance (envisioning Girrugarr) were also selected as acquisitions and will join the Gallery’s impressive collection of contemporary Australian photography.

2017 Finalists
Melissa Anderson, Dane Beesley, Scott Belzner, Fabrice Bigot, Polly Borland, Tammy Boyce, Aaron Bradbrook, Madeleine Burke, Anna Carey, David Chatfield, Dale Collier, Sean Coyle, Gerwyn Davies, Donna Davis, Shoufay Derz, Jeremy Drape, Merilyn Fairskye, Liss Fenwick, George Fetting, Ursula Frederick & Katie Hayne, Natalie Grono, Nina Hanley, Lee Harrop, Petrina Hicks, Jon Lewis, Tim Levy, Abbey McCulloch, Danie Mellor, Helen Okey, Camille Serisier, Darren Sylvester, Hiromi Tango, Linda Wachtel and Emma Wright.


Public Programs

Gallery Nights | Passion and Pop | Live draw session with burlesque star Magnolia Knife 
19 Oct | 6pm | Main Gallery | $15 | Bookings essential | 18 years +

The Award and Exhibition are proudly presented with the support of the Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Foundation for the Arts.

JUWS Foundation new


Danie Mellor, The distance (envisioning Girrugarr), 2017, Diasec mounted Lambda print on Kodak Endura metallic photographic paper

George Fetting, Lee Lin Chin – Flower Girl, 2016, digital photograph on Ilford smooth cotton rag

Natalie Grono, The Burning, 2017, Inkjet print on cotton rag

2017 Winner

Two Heads A Polly Borland

Polly Borland, Two Heads A, 2016, pigment print.

You may also like...
  • rainbow bay tile jarjums

    Jarjums Life Museum – Gold Coast

    24 Feb - 29 Apr
  • Poulson_Clarise_1993-800px

    Across Country: Indigenous Work from the Collection

    24 Feb - 29 Apr
  • _I5A3308

    The Tower Project